Iowa State Cyclones win Gordon Gee Trophy & 2013 Mid West Championship !

Iowa State Cyclones - winner of the Gordon Gee Trophy,2013 Mid West Champion !

Iowa State Cyclones – winner of the Gordon Gee Trophy,2013 Mid West Champion !

The 2013 Mid West Championship presented by Coca Cola, was held at the Iowa State University on-campus field, as American College Cricket continues to show support for those colleges which provide playing fields for their cricket clubs. Iowa State got an on-campus field in 2012 to replace their off-campus field (which is now being used by other local teams). Over all, an addition to the cricket infrastructure that benefits the students & the game.

Iowa State University recognize the value that supporting their cricket club brings, both for current students and for attracting many who love the game. American College Cricket students all over the USA & Canada appreciate the support of ISU, and certainly this has given Iowa State a reputation internationally, as a place to be for cricket-loving students.

Sannel Patel & the Iowa State Cyclone Cricket Club were the hosts, and did a wonderful job supported by their Club Sports Dept.

In the tournament, Iowa State’s Deepak Navi had the highest aggregate: 147 in innings, including 60 & 70 and teammate Tanzil Shumo smashed 105* in 57 balls. Tummalapalli of Wooster burst unto the scene with an average of 116 (scores of 71* & 45).Sriram Raghuvaran (Northern Illinois) took 5 wickets as did Rajeeva T of Iowa State.

New team Northern Illinois performed well, winning their first 2 American College Cricket games.

Iowa State vs College of Wooster : Deepak Navi pulverized the Wooster bowling, hitting 8 fours & 4 sixes in his 70 in 31, out of a partnership of 91 with A Raj, in 6.50 overs Raj went on to score 50 in 37 balls.

Mallipudi35, & M Singh 27* ensured the Cyclones built on the excellent start, & get to a mammoth 252 for 5 wickets in their 20 overs. All of the Wooster bowlers suffered.

In response Tummalapalli batted well, making a fighting 71* in 52 balls, striking 9 fours & 3 sixes ! But the rest of Wooster’s batting didn’t click, & Iowa State won easily. Deepak Navi (ISU) was the MVP.

Northern Illinois (NIU) vs Iowa State : What an exciting match ! The first match ever by NIU as a team, & as an American College Cricket team, came down to the last over !

Deepak Navi batted low in the order, & it seemed to be the undoing of the ISU Cyclones ! Only 45 by # 8 batsman, pacer Sannel Patel (27 balls, 4 fours & 1 six) & some huge hitting by # 9 N Singh who made 39 in 15 balls, with 1 four & 4 sixes ! got Iowa State to a good total of 159 in their 20 overs.

Yallapagada took 3 for 20, Raghuvaran 3 for 22 whilst Muzmumil took 2 key early wickets.

Consistent scoring by the Huskies with Raghuvaran following up his bowling performance with 34, Kiran made 34, Yallapagad 22* got Norther Illinois the victory in 19.2 overs ! Their first game, in their new uniforms, their first victory in American College Cricket ! S Raghuvaran (NIU) was MVP.

College of Wooster vs Northern Illinois – A fine all round performance by Tummalapalli gave the Fighting Scots a fighting chance against the NIU Huskies. Tummalapalli smashed 45 in 31 balls with 4 fours & 3 sixes before he was run out ! The rest of the batting crumbled and Wooster was all out for 94.

Raghuvaran took a beating but got 2 wickets, & ran out the rampaging Tummalapalli. Gudi got 3 wickets for 6 runs.

Tummalapalli took 2 early wickets to set NIU back, & Aryal tore through the middle order to get 3 for 17. However Kiran 33 in 13 balls with 3 fours & 2 sixes, aided by Raghuvaran 18 saw the Huskies get the winning total for the loss of 7 wickets. Wooster’s Tummalapalli was the MVP.

Northern Illinois vs Iowa State – With Deepak Navi back opening the batting,the Cyclones got off to a blistering start ! Navi blasted 60 in 27 balls, with 9 fours & 2 sixes for a strike rate of 207 , out of a 89 run partnership,before Sreekar got him caught & bowled!

Then N Singh provided support as Tanzil Rahman took over, smashing 105* in 57 balls with 9 fours & 6 sixes ! This is the first century of the American College Cricket fall season ! What an innings it was ! All of the NIU bowlers labored in vain against Rahman’s onslaught !

Facing the daunting task of scoring at 12.4 runs per over, NIU kept up until they lost their 3rd wicket for 92 runs in 8.5 overs. At that point Nasir 38 & Kiran 27 had kept them in the hunt, but then Sannel Patel struck, taking 3 for 26 and the NIU Huskies were eventually all out for 132 !

Iowa State Cyclones had avenged their earlier loss to NIU, and won the Gordon Gee Trophy, as the 2013 American College Cricket Champions ! Tanzil Rahman was the match MVP.

The Mid West Championship MVP was M Tummalapalli of College of Wooster, & the Finals MVP was Tanzil Rahman.


Presenting sponsor of American College Cricket is Coca Cola, supporting sponsor Dish Network, TV asia is the exclusive Broad Partner, & scoring provided by CricHQ.

Photos (more to be added) & “Like” us on Facebook :

Posted by ljodah | NEWS

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.