2012 Year in Review ! Did your College make the Highlights ?

Shiv Chanderpaul, Jimmy Adams, Courtney Walsh, Brian Lara, Clive Lloyd & Lloyd Jodah -Chanderpaul Induction in Hall of Fame

For 2011 the most important event for cricket in the USA & Canada was TV Asia’s agreement with American College Cricket, & the televising of its matches which began in Oct 2011.

For 2012 it was the entry of the world’s top brand, Coca Cola, as a sponsor of American College Cricket. Here is a summary of 2012 

                                             JAN 2012

– Reza Rehman (York U) selected to play for Canada. York University’s Khushroo Wadia & Rustam Bhatti played for Canada in 2011
– Adil Bhatti (Montgomery) selected to play for the USA
– first South West Championship, hosted on by Texas A & M Aggies on their campus,who then took the # 1 Ranking. Texas Tech & West Texas A & M made long trips
                                                                        FEB 2012
– Arkansas State University Red Wolves joined American College Cricket, & the team got coverage on ASU TV.
– teams named, and televised Draft on TV Asia of teams for the National Championship – the previous year the Draft was webstreamed
 – Iowa State Cricket Club got great recognition in the Iowa State Daily.
– one of the biggest events in the history USA cricket happened when American College Cricket/TV Asia secured Coca Cola as a major sponsor. It was the first time a major USA brand was sponsoring the game domestically. 
                                                                     MARCH  2012
– Shiv Chanderpaul met with Lloyd Jodah in NYC, prior to the National Championship.
– Indiana University Cricket Club met Yuvraj Singh in Indiana, where he was receiving treatment for cancer.
– TV Asia, with a crew of 30, televised the Semis & Finals of the American College Cricket Spring Break Championship at a level comparable to International cricket, & other televised American sports. This followed the 6 matches televised in Oct 2011 which were  the first ever in USA & Canada
– first large scale use of Crichq scoring app in USA & Canada, at the National Championship
-York College won national Championship & Shiv Chanderpaul Trophy. Got celebrated by York College President Marcia Keizs
                                                                            APRIL 2012
– Sai Ramesh (USF) named Championship MVP
– American College Cricket Advisory Board member Ravin Moorthy became Cricket Canada’s President.
– Vijay Pappu is named UF Gator sports clubs’ ‘Scholar Athlete of the Year’
 – Auburn Cricket Captain Naveen Thiagajaran went on a NASA Zero Gravity flight
 – Penn State Cricket Club won the Most Improved Club Award, given by Penn State 
– members of York College Team were honored at a Beauty Pageant in NYC
                                                                   MAY 2012
– Kartik Radhakrishnan is named “Male Athlete of the Year” at Virginia Tech (from 31 clubs).
– Arkansas Razorbacks joined 
– Ball State University joined
– Amir Saddiqui named a Coach for American College Cricket
– Crichq & American College Cricket announced partnership to revolutionize scoring & stats in USA & Canada
– Buckeyes Cricket Club named “Club of the Year” at Ohio State University.
– All Canada team named
– Alumni teams now eligible to play American College Cricket tournaments as “Special Guests”
– University of Fraser Valley joined
                                                                     JUNE 2012
– Harvard University joined
– Adrian Gordon (NYU-Poly) started his contract to play in England for the summer, practiced with West Indies & England teams
– Princeton University joined
– American College Cricket President Lloyd Jodah with Police Commissioner Ray Kelly, attended opening of NYP United Cricket season
                                                                             JULY 2012
– LIU-Brooklyn joined American College Cricket. Club President Sandeep Devarshetty met NYPD Commissioner Ray Kelly. Club  in NY Times & its college media.
– University of Alabama joined 
– York University participated in a cricket day at Black Creek Village
                                                                      AUGUST 2012
– Northeastern University joined
– India Day Parade on Madison Ave, NYC.: American College Cricket’s Lloyd Jodah & players ride with Anil Kumble,
         & the ICC T20 World Cup Trophy on the Espn float. For 2nd year TV Asia float featured American College Cricket.
– University of Memphis Tigers joined
                                                                                     SEPT 2012
– Claremont Colleges joined
– Mid West Championship for the Gordon Gee Trophy : first time ever cricket was televised from a college campus.Romel Somavat OSU, 116
                                                                            OCT 2012 
– full season of American College Cricket began on TV Asia, every Sat at 7 pm.
– North East Championship for the Deryck Jodah Trophy. Haider Ali hit 119 – the first century on TV in USA & Canada.
– first South Central Regional took place. Murali Ankaraju (Memphis) hit 131.
– 124 years after the challenge was issued, Yale played Harvard in cricket.
– Mid Atlantic Championship took place at the British Officers Cricket Club in PA. Adil Bhatti (MC) 80* 
– most Colleges had their Club Sports Day, & our Clubs, including Embry Riddle & Iowa State, took part 
                                                                     NOV 2012
– great video made by Boston University Cricket Club & featured in BU media.
– South East Championship happened ; Krunal Bhange (USF), 127*
– Raza Rehman (York U) was MVP for Canada vs USA series. Adrian Gordon (NYU-Poly) Adil Bhatti (MC), Ryan Corns
   (Houston) & Mital Patel (Rutgers) played for USA
                                                                               DEC 2012 
– Boston University featured BU Cricket & American College Cricket on its Homepage in a remarkable action Banner
– Shiv Chanderpaul launched the College Cricket Hall of Fame at Press Conference in NYC
– Shiv Chanderpaul became First Inductee into College Cricket Hall of Fame at Event in NYC also honoring
         Brian Lara, Courtney Walsh, Clive Lloyd & Jimmy Adams.  
– College Players of the Year, & Newcomer of the Year named. Other Awards to follow
Articles on all of the Highlights can be found on our website
Follow us on Twitter @CollegeCricketU
on Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/CollegeCricket?fref=ts
Posted by ljodah | NEWS

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.