Buffalo wins Gordon Gee Trophy, & Mid West Championship !

Gordon Gee Trophy winner, Mid West Champion: University at Buffalo !

Gordon Gee Trophy winner, Mid West Champion: University at Buffalo !

2015 Champion Northern Illinois U, Wayne State, Ryerson, Buffalo, UI Springfield, Kent State, Toledo, Penn State and new member Marshall played for the Gordon Gee Trophy.
It was going to be tough for NIU to repeat as North East Champion Ryerson was now playing in the Mid West whilst Buffalo always presents a tough challenge and every team gives their all.

torrential rain the days and night before was a major issue, but with some work on the waterlogged pitches play was possible, albeit with reduced overs.

At the end of the Group stage the Final 4 was Wayne State vs U of Toledo whilst Buffalo and Ryerson faced off.

The Wayne State/Toledo game went to the final over after Wayne State scored 109 for 9 in their 20 overs in the tough outfield. Toledo got the winning runs in 19.3 overs.

Buffalo meanwhile got a comfortable win over Ryerson who made 104 all out in 20. Buffalo got the winning runs in 17.1 overs.
In the Final Buffalo batted first and put up a very good total, considering the slow outfield and maximum boundaries, of 145 for 7. They then restricted Toledo to 111 for 8 in 20, clinching the Gordon Gee Trophy, and Buffalo's first Championship win at the Regional or National level

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.