Nationals’ Top Batsmen, Bowlers & Fielders statistically !

The American College Cricket National Championship made another huge step for the game when the Finals was shown live on ESPN on March 16, bringing the game to new viewers. The Finals were also shown live on TV Asia, and the Semis and Finals will be shown on tape delay on Sat March 29, Sat April 5, and Sat April 12 at 2 pm, in the USA and Canada. Presenting Sponsor is Coca Cola, and Supporting sponsor Xfinity.

Watch the Finals Replay on ESPN  & SHARE it (you can login through your college cable provider)

All the statistics can be seen the Championship Scores link, provided by Crichq. Here are the top performers, many of whom will be contending for spots on the All American team to be named soon, along with others who have excelled off the field.

The 2014 Nationals Championship MVP was Sai Ramesh (USF), and the Top Batsman. Finals MVP was Karthik (USF). Top Championship Bowler was Udaybir Dang.


Sai Ramesh captained the USF Bulls to the National title whilst scoring the most runs in the Championship. With high scores of 103 and 87 run out he came close to being the first to score 2 centuries in a Championship.

# 2 was the batsman who scored the first ever century on TV in the USA & Canada, Rutgers’ Haider Ali smashed another, whilst compiling 242.

West Virginia’s Eshwar Gullapalli 227 helped his team get to the final 4, with consistent scoring, aggregating 227 in 5 innings with a H.S of 71.

U of South Alabama’s captain Fallah Syed led from the front, with 115 and 99 – he too just missed being the first to get 2 centuries in a Championship.

Auburn’s Prasanna Venkatesh once more showed lovely shots and consistency, and helped the Tigers get to the Finals, with an aggregate of 217., H.S 69*.

Numbers on the far right are number of catches

Krunal Bhange (USF) on the go in the Semis vs Rutgers, on TV Asia

Krunal Bhange (USF) on the go in the Semis vs Rutgers, on TV Asia

Sai Ramesh 288 U of South Florida

Haider Ali 242 Rutgers

Eshwar Gullapalli 227 West Virginia 4

Fallah Syed 225 U of South Alabama 3

Prasana Venkatesh 217 Auburn U 3

Saad Zafar 182 Ryerson U

Sohail Chaudary 172 West Virginia 5

Sam Selvaraj 165 Auburn U

Yasneen Karche 148 Carnegie Mellon

Umer Syed 143 U of Texas Arlington 3


Syracuse’s bowling attack, according to observers, was one of the best of the 24 teams and in 3 games Udaybir took 11 wickets to top the wicket takers, averaging 3.6 wickets per game, the next best averaged Boston U’s Daniel Salman averaged 2.3 wickets per game (7 wickets in 2 matches) !

Ryerson’s Saad Zafar took 10 wickets in 5 games, Rutgers’ Sapan Sharma took 9 in 5, USF’s Ashgar Sheik 9 in 6, Auburn Captain Abhishek Kulkarni took 8 in 6.

Udaybir Singh Dang 11 Syracuse U 3

Saad Zafar 10 Ryerson U 5

Sapan Sharma 9 Rutgers U 5

Ashgar Sheik 9 U of South Florida 6 5 catches.

Abhishek Kulkarni 8 Auburn U 6

Hasan Mirza 8 Ryerson U 5

Danial Salman 7 Boston U 3 2 catches

Umer Syed 7 U of Texas Arlington 4

Sai Satish Guda 7 West Virginia U 5

Prem Aluri 7 West Virginia U 5

Chandra Mulagundla 6 Northern Illinois 3

Vivek Jayaram 6 Harvard U 3

Chirag Mehtani 6 Penn State 3

Avinash Gutapadi 6 Syracuse 3

Suday Sudhendra 6 Syracuse 3

Sai Ramesh 6 U of South Florida 4 c


There was a lot of great fielding that saved runs, but stats are only kept for Catches taken. Tops was UT Arlington Pradeep Sangwan with 6.

Wicketkeepers & Fielders with 5 each were Prajna Pati (Cargenie Mellon), Ashgar Sheik (USF), Sohail Chaudary (WVU), Phani Mukkavalli (USF), Agiv Banergee (Carnegie Mellon). Sai Ramesh (USF) completed a tremendous all round performance by taking 4 catches, as did Eshwar Gullapall (WVU) and Ibrahim Khan (Harvard).

Posted by ljodah | NEWS,Universities