2009 Champs Montgomery names Team for national Championship !

You cannot build a building without a foundation, and what a foundation the first 5 teams of American College Cricket provided ! A team from a relatively unknown school, Montgomery College emerged as Champions of the first American College Cricket Spring Break Championship in 2009. Superbly well-led by captain Adil Bhatti they played like professionals, and throughout their Championship year acted like true Champions.

We are pleased to have their roster, from Faculty advisor David Lott, for the 2011 national Championship:

1. Adil Bhatti
2. Sadiq Naseer
3. Suchit Laheri
4. Udit Sehgal
5. Ankit Sehgal
6. Wali Syed
7.Deepak Pathak
8. Amir Chaudhry
9. Danish Asghar
10. Adil Latiwala
11. Basheer Khan
12. Zain Ahmed
13. Jesang D Shah

2009 Champions Montgomery College,at the 2010 Mid Atlantic Championship

In 2009, after winning the Chanderpaul Trophy, Montgomery (MC) travelled 3 times to New York, to take on the best young cricketers in the region. MC’s fielding was the best this writer has ever seen at any level of cricket.

The team recieved many accolades, including a Front Page story in the Sunday Washington Post,Voice of America interviews, and were also on Pakistan & Afghanistana TV.

Becoming America’s most well-known cricket team did not go to their heads though as Adil Bhatti, Ankit Sehgal and Suchit Laheri took time to teach kids at an elementary school, St Patrick’s Episcopal, about cricket. http://americancollegecricket.com/2010/05/24/2009-champions-montgomery-teach-cricket-to-elementary-school-kids/

Adil Bhatti was named the 2009 College Cricket Player of the Year.

Posted by ljodah | Montgomery College,NEWS

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.